It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Learning what is considered good and bad in the early stages of life is considered essential for children. To learn the difference, punishment is a necessity. In my opinion, I strongly agree that punishment is the key to supporting a child in knowing the good and bad things. However, I also believe that developing a naughty corner is beneficial. To start with, punishing the young ones is the key to teaching good behaviour. This is because of the fact that although, children are unable to identify good from bad. However, when corrected, it is embedded in them forever. For example, a study shows that children who are disciplined at home are more composed compared to children who are not. By doing this, younger ones grow up to be well-focused and regulated individuals. Moving on, parents and teachers should deploy naughty corners as punishment. We cannot dispute the fact that the younger ones are not fans of remaining in one spot, as they tend to either run, jump and in many cases crawl around the house and school environment. If, for instance, a child decides to channel their inner Picasso on the newly purchased couch at home. The most effective method of punishment will be to send them off to the naughty corner, where there is no fun in sight. This way, they realise that they have done something wrong and are being corrected for that. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that it is important for children to know the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. This is because the early stage shapes their personal life. Therefore, it is important to utilise this opportunity to guide them right.