The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens' health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is argued that state money should be invested in medical research to ensure the health of people more than in preserving the environment. However, in my opinion, both issues should be spent equally because of some reasons below. On the one hand, it is understandable why the government money should be allocated for medical research. Developing medical services means decreasing the number of diseases that pose threats to citizens’ well-being. Take COVID-19 as an example, which not only puts people at risk of death but also causes economic crises around the world. Therefore, the national budget should be channelled into medical treatments as well as effective vaccines in order to increase the quality of people’s life. On the other hand, I also argue that it is of vital importance for the government to spend an equal amount of money on protecting the environment. With the fast pace of modern life, people have to face a global issue that is environmental pollution, and the increase of infectious diseases mainly results from it. The more polluted the environment is, the more adverse effects it exerts on citizen’s heath. For this reason, money injections from the authority to the preservation of the environment is necessary to gain beneficial impacts. By doing so, not only global warming but biodiversity can be improved. In conclusion, national leaders should balance the investments in both healthcare and environmental protection in order to ensure the sustainable development of the country.