Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In today’s highly developed society, illiteracy problems are worrying many countries' education systems. This essay will discuss the major causes of ignorance and its effects on society as well as the concerned individuals. Whereas there might be many reasons for illiteracy, the major cause is poverty. This is frequently linked with difficult living conditions, school adequacy, and how much money is spent on their learning. For people with low living standards, it is important to provide basic human needs which are shelter, food, and clothes lest they should live. Whereas their money to spend on education is relatively small. Furthermore, their living circumstances could be the inadequate provision of schools and the economic situation of families that make study for their children a low priority. For instance, the cost of school supplies and tuition fees are increasing constantly. Firstly, illiteracy continues to affect all areas of individual life. Perhaps non-readers often live in different areas. Inasmuch they cannot read, they do not understand the simplest signs or directions that occur in their everyday life. For example, in the store, they did not know for sure if they got what they wanted and cannot match the food packages. Secondly, as the illiterate people have limited opportunities for employment or income generation, they tend to commit a crime. The development of a country depends on how many ignorant people there are living. To conclude, difficult living circumstances and poverty are the main reasons for illiteracy, and they affect individuals and social development.