With the scale of globalization today, it would be of unquestionable benefit to have a single world currency. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Recent advancements in science and technology, particularly in information technology have made the world a global village. It is the need of the hour to have a common currency, so that worldwide trade does not face any difficulty. I believe that a single world currency is of utmost importance in the modern world. To begin with, there are a few drawbacks to have a uniform currency on the globe. In current economic system, the economic condition of a country is indicated by value of its currency such as Indian economy is better than Pakistani as one Indian rupee is equal to almost two Pakistani rupees. So with implementation single currency worldwide would diminish this demarkation. Moreover, the currency of each country is the identity of that nation, if a single exchange system is introduced then identification of those countries lost. On the other hand, there are enormous positives of opting a uniform currency. First and foremost, a uniform banking system can work efficiently throughout the world, for,example financial institutes do not need to convert currencies for international transactions. Secondly, it would minimize the discrimination between the economies of poor and rich countries that could significantly decrease economic and political differences among nations. For instance, China and the USA have been confornting comforting each other in a trade war in order to achieve the supremacy of their currencies for the last few decades. In conclusion, I think that even though a single world currency can affect national identities, the convenience in global trade and reduction in the economic gap amongst countries are more beneficial.