The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the first car appeared on British roads in 1888, the number of vehicles has risen to around 29 million by the year 2000. Many people believe that alternative types of transport should be offered and that international regulations should be introduced to control car ownership and usage. I agree to some extent, and this essay will discuss the reasons. On the one hand, the dramatic increase in the number of cars on British roads affects various aspects of life. First, harmful emissions from vehicles trap heat in the atmosphere, which contributes to climate change. These gases also cause air pollution, harming the environment and public health. Furthermore, the rise in car ownership has led to increased traffic congestion, which negatively affects people psychologically and mentally. For instance, a recent study found that traffic jams can affect mental health by up to 56%, and researchers suggested using public transportation instead of private cars. On the other hand,some people argue that there should be an international law to restrict car ownership. Such regulation could help control the increasing number of private cars on the roads. In addition, encouraging people to use public transport by offering incentives could reduce the negative effects of emissions. For example, some global companies provide buses for their employees to commute in order to reduce the drawbacks associated with the rising number of car owners. To conclude, I agree with the view that setting regulations on buying and using cars could help reduce the significant rise in the number of vehicles on the British roads. Such measures may contribute to protecting the environment and improving public well-being.