Many people believe that individuals over 65 should not be allowed to continue working. Others think that people should be allowed to work for as long as they choose. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Occupation plays a key role in maintaining people healthy. It is a controversial topic that whether to permit elderly people over 65 to pursue their job or to restrict them from work after this age. This essay discusses both these sides and will give a wise opinion later. To commence with, people who claim to restrict the job of elderly individuals after 65 years have a lot of justifications. Firstly, senior citizens would have to follow a timetable and it is necessary to balance their physical health. To elaborate, individuals aged above 65 might be suffering from a variety of systemic diseases and have to intake medications. Hence, continuous work without rest might disrupt their diet and treatment. Consequently would lead to impaired health in them. Secondly, rather than doing stressful jobs, they have to involve in some sort of recreational activities. This would assist them to keep their body and mind rejuvenated and to stay happy. For example, the government of Switzerland persuade elderly people to involve in some leisure activities to promote their mental health. Whereas, if elderly people are overly restricted from doing jobs, this might have a deleterious impact on their behaviour. To explain, despite the fact that old individuals need proper rest and care, without engaging in any work for a long time would lead to loneliness and lack of self-confidence. Consequently, they might prefer to stay away from society which could aggravate their diseases. Not surprisingly, this condition may lead to depression. In addition, would have a higher chance of crime tendency. For instance, a survey conducted by the government of Mumbai shows that 70% of elderly people who do not work have mental depression and show criminal behaviour. To conclude, in my opinion, elderly people must need adequate rest and a healthy diet. However, they should not be allowed to stay idle. They must be engaged in their own duties to keep them active and positive.