Some people today prefer to get advice for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, a large number of people have a tendency to get advice for medical issues instead of going to see the doctor. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages that this trend can bring and give my own opinion as well. There are some reasons for people to seek help from others instead of going to the hospital. To begin with, it is not worth coming to the hospital for such minor symptoms as a mild felver, cough or light sore throat because people have to pay a very high consultation charge for the hospital. Hence, when people have those minor diseases, they prefer asking for some suggestions or solutions from a relative or friend because there is a common belief that those symptoms are very common and easy to be cured. Secondly, if the patient can treat their light illness at home, they will give a hand to minimize the overloading at the hospital. For example, if a large number of patients with both minor and serious diseases go to hospital at the same time, it is very hard for hospital staff to take care of them all. Thus, if those people who have minor diseases can cure their illness at home, the serious cases will have more chances to be treated in better condition. However, this tendency can also bring some undeniable disadvantages. First and foremost, people who have a little experience, may receive misdiagnosis from others because many diseases have the same syndromes. Therefore, people should go to hospital to consult doctors who specialize to treat many symptoms and people will be given much valuable advice instead of staying at home and asking for the help from unspecialized people. Furthermore, if many people can cure their illness at home easily, they will have an intention of not going to the hospital sooner or later even when they get serious symptoms. That must be very serious because treating illness at home will badly affect not only the patient's health but also the whole hospital system which can also lead to the eventual degradation of many hospitals if many people are still staying at home and curing the illness themselves. In short, there are some reasons why people in general or patients in particular choose to get advice from others. However, this trend will have a very negative impact on both patients and the community.