There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

Nowadays, the trend of not having children is raising constantly. This is because married couples prefer not to have an offspring throughout their lives. The benefit of this decision is that married couples can focus on their own individual and career development whereas, one drawback is that they will be alone and will have no one to support or look after them when they grow old. On one hand, married couples make a decision of never giving birth to a child because doing so will help them focus on themselves, and they will be able to utilize all their resources for their own betterment. Not having a child would result in more disposable income, this means they will be able to enhance their quality of life and career paths. They will not have to save money for the future as well. The only savings they will be needing is probably for their own retirement. For example, parents usually save resources for their children's college education or marriage. Instead of saving money for future events, they can invest in various assets and double their money. Moreover, married couples without children will also have the liberty to develop their careers independently. For example, they can travel or study any time they figure is the best. On the other hand, this resolution has a negative impact in the later parts of their lives. As human beings age, they require support and care from their loved ones. But this element of reliance and love would be missing from their lives, as only close family or their own children can provide this unconditional affection and care. Couples who opt can also feel lonely on holidays and events in which families gather and enjoy themselves. For example, my uncle and aunt who resided in the USA decided not to give birth in the initial years of their marriage. However, later they had a problem with conceiving a child. As a result, they explain that regret not having a family of their own and that there was a void in their lives which they themselves could not explain. In conclusion, these days married couples opt to not have children. Although this could be beneficial for their personal and professional development, it could lead to a feeling of loneliness and isolation when they grow old.