Some people think the newly built houses should be the same as the old housing styles in local areas. Others argue that local authorities should allow people to build houses in their own style. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that construction of homes should stick to the same housing style that was prevalent earlier, but others think it should be left up to the discretion of the owner. In this essay I will discuss both points of view and give my opinion. Homes were built according to the general needs of the people of that generation. In olden times, the architecture was not affordable and hence most houses used the same blueprints or at least, similar ones. It was designed in a way such that it would match the needs of the society. For example, residences were constructed while keeping in mind, sewage pipelines in order to facilitate efficient drainage of water and other wastes. Therefore, building homes similar to old housing styles would make perfect sense. On the other hand, as human beings, we strive for uniqueness. A home is personal to all and how it is built should be decided by the homeowner. Now, in modern times, with architecture becoming accessible and affordable to all, it is possible for anyone to have an architect draw up designs for their dream house while still in compliance with all the requirements of the housing law. For instance, even a 7 story residential building can be constructed which follows the rules mandated by local authorities. While both views have their pros and cons, I agree with the latter. People should be given the right to construct homes according to their liking because this brings variety into a locality. It also creates a platform to develop creativity in terms of urban and rural planning and changes the landscape of the city.