More and more people are seriously overweight. Some people suggest the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The recent increase in cases of obesity amongst humans is a cause for concern. It is often argued that this issue can be tackled by hiking the cost of foods that cause this problem. I completely agree with this point of view and therefore, in this essay, I will examine the reasons to support my opinion and provide a suitable conclusion. Firstly, raising the price of unhealthy eatables makes it less affordable to the vast majority of the general public. This is because, since most people have a fixed budget to spend on food, they are less likely to splurge on costly snacks and thus they will consume it in very low quantities. For example, if a packet of potato chips cost thrice as much as it used to, by default an average person will look to buy only one instead of multiple packs. This is to say that the higher the price, lower will be the consumption. Secondly, when the cost of commodities goes up, manufacturers will be forced to reduce production or even halt it. That is why when buyers cut down on buying their products, the company will suffer losses and hence they will be forced to stop releasing unhealthy edibles and maybe it can even encourage them to venture into making healthy snacks. In conclusion, changing the price of snacks that are bad for health will result in lower cases of obesity. I strongly believe making snacks unaffordable and forcing companies to stop producing foods that are harmful to health is the best solution to this problem.