Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, criminal cases are increasing at an alarming rate. While some feel that those who commit heinous crimes should get the death penalty, I, however, agree with those who feel that death is not a viable solution. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will explain both sides and share my opinion with relevant example. On the one side, it could be argued that criminals should be sentenced to death if they have committed a serious crime. Supporters of this trend believe that the criminals are not going to learn anything if officials will put them behind the bars for several years, so these people must get hanged as it will reduce the criminal's count on the earth. For instance, the Russian government has a death penalty for those who get indulged in heinous crimes, resulting in fewer criminal cases than their neighbour countries. On the other side, I feel that killing someone for his criminal activities is incorrect, and the authorities must consider other morally correct solutions. They can assign the violators unpaid work for the society as this will not only keep them busy but will also give them an opportunity to correct their mistakes. In India, for example, many drug addicts are doing voluntary work by running awareness programs. Owing to this, they are telling people about chronic diseases that can be avoided by staying away from drugs. In conclusion, although the death penalty to serious criminals can reduce their numbers on the earth, voluntary work can give them a chance to do something good for the community. Therefore, I feel that the officials must give morally correct punishment, and this can be done by giving them an opportunity to work without pay for their nation.