Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is argued that homework should not be given to the school children by the teachers. On the contrary, homework is somewhat beneficial for the children in many ways. I agree on the fact, homework makes the children more productive in their daily life. First of all, homework sets disciplines and develops time management skills which later affect on their senior high school and work force. Secondly, there might create the intimate relationship between parents and children providing assistance on their lessons. Thirdly, they can become more engaged in their studies because setting homework allows students to revise the lesson learnt during the day, with a set of fresh eye and clear mind. Finally, the parents and teachers can keep track on the progress by checking on the completeness of their lessons. Some research has shown that students who spend more time on homework score higher on measures of achievement and attitude. On the contrary, there are a few untoward effects from doing homework given by teachers. The main reason is that the children have little time to pursue their hobbies and socialising with their friends and families. Moreover, students from low-income families find it difficult to complete their homework because of few resources and low assistance. Furthermore, the only purposeful homework is intrinsically linked with quality homework, which means that the students become authentic and engaged in their studies when the teachers provide a clear and detailed tasks. Otherwise, they become lack of purpose and distracted with their work. From this we can conclude that providing quality and purposeful homework create a sense of successful completion and work-life balance in their student years. Therefore, in my opinion, I agree with the fact of giving homework to the students.