Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays technology plays a very vital role in our lives. And big multinational groups use these new machines to make their living, hence these marketers use their software as bait for people to part with their personal information. It has its own advantages which are very beneficial for the people but as we also know with good deeds come limitations, which we will be discussing further. Firstly, it is a business these days for the merchants to sell email addresses amongst other things in large numbers to another marketing team in exchange for software to have repeat business. Such organizations have good links with each other so that there can be versatility in their work with no problems among them. Therefore, the communities like WhatsApp, Instagram, YouTube and Google sell the wealth of their information on users to many other agencies like Amazon, Flipkart, Myntra etc. so that they can provide us with the advertisements and products related to our browsing history. Sometimes it is very useful as it makes our searches easy for a particular item that we are looking for, but in many cases leaking the personal information of users can create a huge problem for them. An advantage of selling the web-user behaviour to these Internet organizations is to provide the users with what they need with the help of online advertisements related to their product. This has happened to me many times. For instance, this morning I remember I was searching for a pair of shoes on google and after some time I opened my Instagram account and it was full of advertisements for shoes that I was looking for. It helped me to buy a pair of quality shoes at a great price. But, there are some drawbacks also, as selling personal info can lead to interference in the privacy of folk. By selling the personal chats on WhatsApp or Instagram indiscriminately these social media organizations run the risk of wrong people getting access to passwords to bank accounts or social media accounts which then might lead to gross misuse such as thefts - either of money or identity, by third party agencies. In conclusion, while these large online businesses sell their customer details to other marketing businesses to make their living and for a sustainable business, they do so without thinking about the privacy of their customers, affecting their own trustworthiness and the security of their clients. The disadvantages could lead to disastrous losses and so offset any perceived advantages. Hence, we should not share sensitive personal data on these platforms.