In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Companies greatly use advertisements to promote their products, indicating that they are innovative and show off some characteristics. I firmly think that this action is a negative development as it might result in lying people to profit and obtain more revenues. It is a fact that companies are involved in a cutthroat world, and they are always looking for standing out from their rivals. This leads to trying to gain more clients by making up new creations. However, many times businesses violate the trust of the audience as they advertise their products pointing out inexistent, and perhaps unreal, characteristics. Take for example the famous brand Apple, this company launches an iPhone each year, emphasising that their batteries last two days, and users will not have to charge their smartphones. Nevertheless, it has been proved that this highlighted feature of the iPhone does not work as clients from around the globe have demanded Apple. It can be argued that it happens because Apple competes with other brands, such as Samsung and Huawei, even if it means to deceive. In my opinion, this type of advertising is totally negative. Indeed, societies already mistrust businesses, and these actions only make the situation worse. Many people can easily believe in the ads that they saw on TV commercials or on the Internet, and they might get disappointed with the brands or even with themselves when they realise that they purchased a product, which did not fulfil its description. I would argue that businesses ought to advertise their products honestly and give proofs through certificates that the features of their products are authentic. To sum up, companies are using all their means to get more clients. It is unfair to promote fake characteristics and deceive people, therefore, I am convinced that business practices should be improved in relation to advertising campaigns.