Some people think the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued than educational institutions main role is to develop good member of society and hardworkers, rather than focusing on the development of a students' individual qualities. The paragraphs below will outline a strong agreement about this trend. To begin with, I believe schools must display an important part in teaching young people about citizenship. The reason for this is because morality and honesty, which are collective characteristics essential to maintain a good coexistense among others, are learned from the very basis, thus being effective. Through acquiring knowledge about these social manners, children may grown respectfully and well-mannered. Moreover, active teaching strategies can be used to show to expose how to be a model citizen properly. For instance, in Brazilian schools, primary-aged students are introduced to voting and policies' seminars, to develop citizen conscience. Furthermore, I consider that the subjects taught are determinant to prepare the students to the labor market in the future. Several companies nowadays demand hard-skilled individuals to certain jobs. For example, during an interview to be system manager of a company, the tiebreaker point to choose between me and other contestant was a math problem. Therefore, learning topics in mathematics, english or history may augment the possibilities of being hired in adulthood. To conclude, I strongly agree that the main purpose of educational institutions are and should be transmitting about citizenship and work effort to keep building a moral and honest society, and to increase chances of fulfilling a career in the coming years.