Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that increasing the prices of sugary products would lead to preventing people from eating large quantities of sugar. In my opinion, I believe this decision isnot isn't enough for stimulating individuals for using these type of goods because they are not aware of the negative impact of sugar on their health. On one hand, suppoters of this view would believe that people would start elimnate their sugar consumption because the high cost of sugary products would drain their household budget. This action would push people toward choosing more healthy options, which opens their minds about the benefits of eating healthy food. For instance, The Sunday Times reported that 85% of parents stopped purchasing candies for their children after doubling their prices in the United Kingdom. However, it is not adequatly to convenice convenience individuals to cut their spending on sugary goods if they did not recieve enough information about the side affect of adding large amount of sugar to their nutrient system. On the other hand, people will not stop purchasing food products that have high level of sugar regardless of the higher prices of these products because they are addicted to them, and therefore it would be impossible for them to reduce their consumption immediately.A typical example of this is that Abu Dhabi government reported that the precentage of abesity has doubled among the teenagers and children after imposing 10% tax on soft drinks and sweet goods. Hence, this type of decision has marginal effect on changing peoples' unhealthy habits. To sum up, it might sensible to consider increasing the price of products that consist of sugar component as the best method to force people decreasing their consumption from this item. However, I would disagree with this method because it is not sufficent to motivate citizens to adjust their eating habits.