The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

Since the late 20th century, animal rights has become the topic of argument. Artificial settings have been proven to be beneficial to these vertebrates, and as such I am of the opinion that it should not be prohibited, this is because zoos help to prevent the extinction of these species and also generate income for the host country. To begin, zoos are anaesthetic asesthetic environment created for the sole purpose of decreasing the rate by which some species of animals go into exile, secondary to man's activity. For example, due to the high level of hunting for elephants in Kenya, huge amount of funds are channeled by their government for the construction of artificial habitat, in a bid to prevent the extinction of Elephants from Kenya. I am of the view point that these man-made habitats should not be banned as they can serve as source of revenue to a nation. By creating these settings, people from different walks of life can pay just to visit these animals whose species are been threathened to go into exile. By so doing, this indirectly generates funds for the government. In Dubai for instance, one of the major source of income is zoo which serves as tourist attraction, individuals pay handsomely to come watch lions and take pictures with them. In conclusion, although animal rights has been a subject of discussion for decades, creating a man-made environment for them has been shown to help them from going into exile. I do not agree that it should be banned as they can serve as a nation's source of wealth.