A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In modern times, a man's standing in society is determined by the things he owns. Some are of the opinion that long gone are the days when virtues like kindness, honour and trust depicted a person's stature because, these days the only things that matter seem to be physical possessions and status. I concur with this statement and in this essay, I will provide the evidence to back my claim. Firstly, the rise of capitalism has only lengthened the wealth gap and with money comes a high social ground. This is to say, that when someone drives a luxurious car and wears expensive clothes, nobody cares about the personality of that individual. For instance, a popular film star who earns crores of rupees is repected repeated more inspite of his arrogance, when compared to a humble policeman who does honourable work in the society. Secondly, in today's world, first impressions are the best impressions. In other words, the world today moves at such a rapid pace that nobody has the time to gauge another person's values by making a conversation with them. So instead, they make up opinions based on the person's outlook. For example, a well-groomed person, who is impeccably dressed is automatically assumed to be decent, whereas, someone whose appearance is shabby and looks poor is deemed to be a worthless human being. To conclude, judgements are passed regarding everyone, but it so happens that the one passing it, does it without any actual knowledge of the other person's character. Hence, although it is not ideal, I completely agree with the statement.