Childern have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age of five or six right up untill the age of eighteen. What are the advantages and disadvantages if making childern do exams

Youngsters have series of assessments to perform at school and in some cases, starting from the age of 5 or 6 up to their late teens. These have pros and cons, and this essay will consider both. On the one hand, one of the benefits of subjecting these pupils to different tests and examinations is that it assesses their level of understanding about the subject being taught. For example, this is the primary reason why examination was founded in the 20th century by Mr Isaac. It is a standard yardstick that can be used to determine the student's level of understanding irrespective of their location. Also, it persuades students to concentrate in class. this is because they wouldn't want to fail the assessment that would follow next. On the other hand, the fact that it instil fear in this target group is a drawback worthy of note. That is to say that, some persons become anxious and sometimes depressed when they are under exam condition, and this on the long run would affect their performance. Results of a study by a professor at the college university, Lagos showed that a significant proportion of students who do not perform well during any form of assessment, owed their failure to the fact they were running nerves as at the time of the test. Additionally, test do not assess one's level of expertise in that subject but rather their knowledge. This has negative consequences as most test takers would only want to read to pass without necessarily understanding the course been taught. In conclusion, alot I lot of tests and examinations are carried out by minors beginning from the age of 5 to 18, the fact that this enables them concentrate and have good grasp about the subject being taught is a positive development, while in contrast it causes anxiety and reduces their academic performance.