Some people think museums should be enjoyable places to attract and entertain young people, while others think the purpose of museums should be to educate, not entertain. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Many believe that museums should be used to attract and entertain the young generation, while others argue galleries should be a place for education, not for entertainment. In my opinion, although making museums a place to entertain will bring economic benefit to the nation, the educational purpose of museums will help improve young people’s understanding. Many advocates for museums for entertainment argue that this kind of museum makes it easier to earn money. Since the traditional kind of museums only exhibits ancient artifacts with plagues, no video or no sound, they are too boring and only used by educated people or students interested in the subject. If, for instance, museums altered their themes, such as film industry or music history and were equipped with many recreational facilities like movie theatres or AI technology for young visitors to experience, they would be attractive to youngsters as school-goers prefer to engage in such activities. This will result in more young individuals having a trip to museums, which bring more revenue to the museums so that they can use this budget to maintain the museums and improve the quality of the exhibition. Nonetheless, museums should be operated in educational ways due to the fact that they help deepen our understanding and promote patriotism. For example, a historic museum houses a vast collection of historic and cultural artifacts and documents about how our forefathers rebelled against the invaders, how they socialized in the past and how they developed their technique of cooking or cultivating. This acts as a window to the past better than any textbooks since observing the real objects is more exciting and more enlightening than learning in the classroom, which is sometimes abstract and impersonal. As a consequence, young people can expand their knowledge about those historic events more quickly and easily, which may result in the promotion of patriotism in the younger generation. In conclusion, despite the benefit of entertainment museums in terms of economy, I believe that museums should be a place to teach children to broaden their horizons. Schools and parents should encourage young individuals to visit galleries on a regular basis to make them gain more insights into many subjects.