News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspaper. What focus do you think influence these decisions? Do we become to used to bad news, and would it be better more good news was reported?

It is widely known that the news the population have access to are chosen by an editor. The paragraphs below will discuss why the broadcasted information is chosen depending on their power to attract and to catch attention, why people are accustomed to witnessing tragedies and why reporting more positive stories would help to change this scenario. To begin with, the events posted online or broadcasted in tv are mainly aimed to astonish people, even if it tells about a case of a serial killer who has recently attacked. The logical idea of it is to hold people's attention and foment a discussion about it, creating a trending topic. For instance, there is a Brazilian tv program which shows cases of assaults and murders in a specific region of the country. Despite being perturbing, the reporter films several scenes of police chases and actual people reports which give a certain air of suspense and drama to it, enduring viewers' impressed. Furthermore, due to the negative and shocking nature of these pieces of information commonly shown, people have given upon their empathy to give way to curiosity. To illustrate, racism examples are so often seen that expecting what it is going to happen next has become natural. If good news were spread with the same facility that bad ones do, the idea of hope and the expectancy to hear something good would be maintained. To conclude, editors decide to broadcast events that drew people's attention, specially those ones involving chaotic and troublesome occasions which cause a wrong sense of naturalness and which could be diminished if more stories with good endings were posted.