Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While many are of the opinion that sentencing convicts to prison is the most effective way of dealing with them, others would argue, and I totally concur, that rehabilitation as well as skill acquisition training are the best means of assisting these people. This essay will explain further on these points. On the one hand, sending them to prison instantly stops their anti-social behaviour as proposed by many. However, I do not agree with this claim. They are of the suggestion that by convicting these criminals, they would be separated from their prey's community and can no longer carry out their activities. For example, in Nigeria, following the arrest of the notorious leader of the heardmen herdmen headmen group in the northern part of the nation, their activities dropped significantly. Due to the fact that this detatches detached them from their prey, some are of the opinion that this is the best way to deal with them. However, this is not so, as there is high tendency of re-offending following their release back into the society. On the other hand, some would argue and I concur that rehabiliting these criminals as well as teaching them new skills would help them become better citizens than merely restricting their movement. For instance, due to the benefit this offers, most prisoners in the developed countries are been persuaded to picked Change the form of the verb pick show examples up a skill and take up subjects in mental health. There are so many reasons why people commit crime, while some are pre-meditated, others are not. Whatever be the reason, re-educating these law breakers has been proven to be useful in making them better person. In conclusion, despite the fact that some individuals would opine that confining these law-breakers is the most superior means to tackel take their excesses, others propose and I support that they should be re-educated and taught new jobs as this would produce more positive effects.