Giving children and adolescents pocket money is common throughout the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice and give your opinion.

Nowadays, pocket money has become a well-known trend among youth development. Firstly, I will discuss the advantages. Secondly, I will explain the disadvantages. One of the main benefits is that they know the meaning of earning money. They feel responsible to pay back their purchases. By doing so, they will learn to keep their savings. For example, they can buy their tiffin from school canteens. This means they are much aware of their affluence. Moreover, another factor can be building up their independence. So that they can spend some of their savings on public transport. Nevertheless, this system has bad sides if we look deeper. For instance, any child may lose his/her temper if they do not get their needs or wants on time. This can create distances from their parents. In addition, another factor can be the demanding power. The children’s demand increases as they grow older. They might even impersonate in front of their parents to meet their needs. Hence, this becomes intricate to stop their jealousy and greediness. As a result, family dispute can occur any time. To conclude, I am strongly against the statement mentioned above. Therefore, the youngsters lose their patience if they do not get what they want. It will be much better if the pocket money system is available after the age of 18.