Social media has become a real problem for young people today, and governments should create law that allow only people over 18 years of age to have accounts. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The robust increment in social interactions influenced by information technology has been bringing many issues for the last few decades. The most vulnerable population is young ones that are why there should be an age limit to use social media platforms. I believe that only adults are allowed to sign up for social media accounts. To begin with, there are a few drawbacks to restrict adolescents to use social networking tools. Some young learners use social media applications such as Skype, Microsoft team, and Wats App for discussion and combine study. For instance, if these sites are limited to grown-up users, it would have devastating impacts on the academic performance of students. Particularly, in the middle of the pandemic, students do online group activities which are an efficient way of learning. Moreover, social media plays a pivotal role in the grooming of children and stopping them to use it could affect their brought up. On the contrary, there are enormous benefits to define an age limit for social media users. First and foremost, it would help to protect the innocent minds of kids, as they will not have access to inappropriate information on the internet. Secondly, the people who have malicious goals could not exploit the young generation and could help to combat serious crimes in a society like a drug dealing and terrorism. For example, if governments ban underage users, they will not be exposed to violent and sexual material which is key to make them useful citizens of society. In conclusion, I think that even though age-related restrictions on social networking applications can affect the process of seeking knowledge, the advantages such as the decline in the crime rate and violence from society are far more.