More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Agreeable to the order of the day, a large number of people the world over are interested in purchasing branded products, such as vehicles, perfumes, attires to name but a few. This tendency is increasing mainly because of the desire to update themselves and flaunt in front of others. However, I wholeheartedly feel that it is a negative development down to having disastrous repercussions on society and individual life. One of the compelling reasons for buying branded items is to cope with the modern world. In other words, if an individual uses non-branded and old-fashioned things, he or she would feel uncomfortable mingling with others who use state-of-the-art products regularly. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 95% of students change their well-functioning mobile phones only because their friends have up-to-date version’s cell phones. As well as that inasmuch as having renowned branded products reflects upper social class and prestige, people want to buy those to show off. Researchers of many countries have found that 90% of items are purchased without having any need. Therefore, so as to update and increase the prestige individuals are more likely to buy famous branded things. Plausible though there are reasons for using branded items, this type of tendency has many negative ramifications. First of all, the habit of squandering money on unnecessary things would increase the financial burden, causing stress in life. To illustrate, if people continuously buy advanced gizmos at an exorbitant price, there is a high chance of falling into debt, creating many problems in their personal lives. Apart from that, a huge amount of unnecessary products are produced down to having increasing demands that have many detrimental effects on the environment. To exemplify, global temperature increases by 2% annually only because of meeting the unwarranted demand of modern society. In conclusion, in order to cope with the latest trend and increase the status, people are purchasing renowned branded products that habit is surely a negative development.