Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by many that in order to challenge the most health problem due to widespread use of sugar in man-made products and reduce the consumption of it by humans it is preferable to increase prices for these sugar -containing products. I strongly agree that this measure may be effective for solving a problem with health as it will mitigate the availability of such products for most consumers. However, this decision must be supported by a set of additional measures, such as lowering prices for natural products, including vegetables and fruits, as well as widespread promoting of a healthy lifestyle. To begin with, one of the reasons why introducing a « sugar tax» may be effective for decreasing the consumption of manufactured products with sugar is that the family budget is usually limited, and there is a list of essential products, such as milk and bread, while junk food is often bought additionally. Thus the high price of sweets, snacks and drinks will be a kind of restriction in the intake of them daily. As a result, it will contribute not only to decreasing diseases like obesity or diabetes but also to encourage people to eat more healthy and natural nutrition. For instance, these measures of increasing tobacco taxation, passed on to consumers in the form of higher cigarette prices, have been recognized as one of the most effective population-based strategies for decreasing smoking in Kazakhstan for the last years. However, this measure to reduce intake of sugar by implementing taxation on it should be as a part of a comprehensive strategy aimed not only at promoting healthy nutrition and lifestyle but also at raising the affordability of natural fruits and vegetables, which is often not available for the most people due to their high prices. As a consequence, this may lead to the formation of healthy eating behaviour and redistribution of the family grocery basket, where junk food will be replaced by fresh fruits and vegetables. For example, farmer markets in Almaty, where local farmers offer their products at lower prices, are very popular among the local population, which undoubtedly contributes not only to the consumption of healthy food but also to an overall healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that price incrementation on sugar -containing food should not be overlooked. That is due to the fact that cheap junk food stimulates to buy more manufacturing products rather than natural farmer production. Nevertheless, this way of reducing sugar intake alone may not be effective and should organize along with other comprehensive measures for forming a healthy nation.