The percentage of obese children in Vietnam has been increasing in recent years. What are the causes and effects of this disturbing trend?

Nowadays, the proportion of obese minors in Vietnam has been on the rise. This essay will consider the possible reasons for this trend as well as the effect it has on these target population. To begin with, commercials encouraging children to eat fast foods have been proven to be the major contributing factor to childhood obesity. Because these youngsters do not have a mature mind of their own, they are easily influenced by television ads encouraging them to eat unhealthy sugary products such as candy etc. For example, results of different studies have shown that TV commercials advertising junk meals is a major contributor to childhood obesity. Due to the fact that they consume foods with high amount of unwanted sugar and unsaturated fats, it predisposes them to diseases like diabetes, stroke etc. Secondly, the lack of physical activity is another contributing factor to the increasing level of obesity among youngsters in Vietnam. In recent times, children spend a significant proportion of their day in front of their TV either watching film or playing video games as against playing with their peer group, which would help them shed some fats and strengthen their bones. For instance, there is a direct link between lack of exercise and obesity and frail bones, as reported by the daily magazine early this year. As a result of this sedentary lifestyle which is usually accompanied with high consumption of junk foods, they become inactive and this encourages the formation of weak bones and they also accumulate fat unnecessary. In conclusion, the rising proportions of children with high fat content in Vietnam is primarily due to the effects of ads which encourages them to eat unbalanced diet, and lack of physical exercise. Whatsoever be the cause, the effects of this negative behavior is that it predisposes them to developing health problems such as heart disease, stroke, weak bones etc.