Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people who lost their jobs because of it.

The trend of online shopping is getting famous day by day in today’s society. Considering the usage of the huge amount of plastic while packaging the goods, it has a negative impact on the atmosphere. Apart from this it is also adversely affecting denizens, who lost their job because of the same trend. Indubitably, millions of people do online shopping on daily basis. To pack all types of products, vendors using multiple layers of plastic for secure packaging. However, tons of plastic waste is collected regularly from delivered packages and disposed of in the ocean or burned at open places. Due to the same, the quality of water and air is declining because of the properties of the material and toxic gases emitted in the atmosphere respectively. Consequently, it is affecting marine life and human beings as well. A survey, done by Cambridge University Students, revealed that plastic pollution increased by 20% in the last five years, due to virtual shopping. Admittedly, people are addicted to electronic shopping because of the wide range of variety and quality of products. Therefore, not only local business owners would lose their investment in the establishment but also worker would lose their job. Leading to an increase in unemployment has detrimental effects on the economy of the nation. Moreover, it will be difficult for the employees to fulfil their basic needs. For instance, had the online shopping trend not increased, the unemployment rate would not be increased in India. To conclude, owing to the pollution and facing issues in surviving; online shopping will have destructive outcomes on both the environment and denizens who lost their jobs.