In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

For many individuals in various nations ownership of a house is more important than living in a rented one. This is because of the social status if measured in some by the ownership of a home. I personally believe it is a negative situation as many expenses gather up with a house ownership. People who own houses are stated as wealthy and also that they have a higher social value. It is believed that the house ownership is a high ranked position. Thus many have the urge of maintaining their status by owning a house. For example, from ancient times, only higher casts could afford a house, although many have access to it nowadays. Therefore, many tend to have a house ownership. However, I think it is not a positive situation as it comes up with various expenses and not as simple as people believe it to be. Each owner need to pay government taxes for their house ownership. Any sort of damages which might cost thousands should also be repaired on your own. For instance, recently many governments around the world implemented higher tax rates regarding house ownership and it is far more expensive than living on rent. In conclusion, even though some people might give importance to a ownership of a house due to valuing social status, in my opinion it is a negative situation as it could be more expensive than renting a house.