Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Fresh and safe drinking water is a basic necessity of mankind. Unfortunately, since the demand has been increasing unprecedentedly leads to water scarcity, which is become an international problem. This scenario is occurred because of the population explosion and contamination of water bodies, but these could be effectively tackled by adopting a feasible measure; however, this need to be followed by all. One of the main causes of lack of water is increasing population rate. This is because when more people mean more requirements: drinking, cooking, farming and so on, for instance. Similarly, many water bodies are highly polluted due to both industrial and household rubbish, eventually, the water hardly use for drinking purpose. It has been also noted that the affluent family tend to waste water instead of saving it for the future purposes. All these reasons lead to water deficiency as a global threat. Despite the above-mentioned causes, the situation could be reversed if governments and the world population make a joint effort. Firstly, an international treaty is to be developed, which could introduce some rules and regulations, which must be strictly adopted by humans, to prevent water contamination and better use of available water in a proper manner. Moreover, poor countries to be funded to build purification plants to avail safe drinking water for the people. For example, Bill Grates, owner of Microsoft, has already spent a huge amount for this initiative. Thus, it is a proven method, a well-coordinated global regulation would be fruitful to curb the water crisis. In conclusion, as water scarcity has been emerging globally because of the pollutions, high demand and population growth, developing a global body will resolve the crisis effectively.