A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, some persons are of the opinion, and I totally disagree that people's value are judged according to their rank in the society and material things, while traditional values are no longer essential. This essay will explain further. On the one hand, many equate one's rank and social status with their worth. However, I do not agree with this claim, They are of the suggestion that an individual occupying a high socioeconomic position in the society is wealthy than those with a low level. For example, this can be seen in the Chinese culture, as more respect is given to individuals with a title and lots of investments than a typical commoner. As a result of this, our basic core values would be lost. On the other hand, I do not concur with the later. This is because some persons are suffering from the Joneses Syndrome; a phenomenon where people buy things to impress and meet up with others. For instance, this effects of trying a achieve a high societal status and possess material things is common among the minors who are into cyber crimes. As a result of this, judging the fact these persons are wealthy is coming from a wrong point of view. Rather than judge these features as being wealthy, one's contribution to the growth of the society should be prioritize. In conclusion, despite the fact that some opine that one's position in the community and their assets is a yardstick to determine one's wealth, I am of the belief that one contribution towards the enhancement of the society is far better.