Some people think that parents have a great influence on their children. Others believe that the media is a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this contemporary era, kids are learning things not only from their families but also from broadcasting media. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that TV channels and social networks have a great impact on children ’s attitudes, others contend that parents can only influence to mould the temperament of a child in the best way. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that through family members, children learn the most valuable things to lead their lives. The media is considered to be instrumental in influencing adolescents’ behaviour in that most of the time they love to spend time in front of the TV or computer. As a result, a child will learn whatever he or she watches on these channels. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 90% of school-going children in the UK learn slang languages from YV shows whereas their parents never use such kinds of words in homes. Therefore, media is now influencing how juveniles would react and behave in society. Plausible though children easily catch the things that showed in the media, their dispositions only depend on what they have learned from their families since birth. In other words, from an early age to adolescents, a kid stays close to his or her parents rather than watching TV or playing video games, leading him or her to learn the values, disciplines, to name but a few that are most essential to lead a life smoothly and perfectly. Researchers around the world have found that 95% of successful professionals have passed quality time with their parents in childhood and learnt important lessons to build a career successfully. Hence, insofar as parents get enough time to spend with their babies before their children addicted to media, the influence of families on their children is bigger than any other factor. In conclusion, admittedly, TV media has effects on kids but parents influence exceeds all other factors in importance. Thus, I unequivocally buttress the stand of having the highest influence on children by their parents.