Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The growing population worldwide has its own merits and demerits, On the downside, it has resulted in a problem of fulfilling a need for production as well as disposal of the daily need items. The essay will not only examine the causes of increased rubbish but suggest the ways in which government can play a key role to curb the amount of waste produced. There are two major factors behind the upsurge of garbage. Firstly, the rising needs of everyday items required for survival, leading to higher scrap produced. For instance, consider the usage of a milk product, after it is consumed, its wrapper straightaway goes into the bin. Imagine the number of plastic wrappers thrown by every individual. Perhaps, in billions every day! The second factor linked to the previous is modern use-&-throw culture. Most of the products, nowadays, are preferably sold in temporary packaging, like milk in tetra packs or plastic covers, considering more comfort for the consumers. Consequently, the use-once & throw culture adds up to the things collected in rubbish worldwide. To tackle the issue, In addition to every citizen, Governments have a key role to play. The first and foremost action the management need to take is to regulate the usage of materials in which the goods are wrapped. Take India as an example, Indian Government has imposed the increase in the thickness of the polythene bags to 125microns, in favour of the fact that it could be easily recycled and reused for the same purpose in accordance with researches conducted over the same. Additionally, The Administration can run public initiatives for the people, by the people, to make them aware of the problems of increasing garbage globally. Just like, "Clean India campaign" started by the Indian prime minister. In conclusion, unless efforts are made to shift public consciousness, this problem will only escalate. While the authorities have a critical role to play, a sense of awareness and responsibility at the individual level is a critical part to avoid the surging amount of debris all over.