Many students around the world are not choosing science subject at university? What are the reasons for this? What affects will this have on society?

Every year students across the world have to opt a particular subject at university for higher studies. Recently, there has been a rising trend that many students are reluctant in pursuing science as an area of expertise. The reasons for this trend are manifold and that can eventually have adverse outcomes on society. This essay will discuss why the science is not on the students ' preferred list and how this will impact the society in future. Nowadays, students prefer not to pursue challenging subjects because of the fear of continuous learning. Science as a subject not only requires deep understanding of the content but also demands continuous delving in the field. For instance, a virologist requires to conduct regular research on new viruses to discover remedies. Furthermore, the curriculum and time required to get certification for science subjects tend to be far more than the other subjects. These reasons The lower number of science students in future will have severe impact on our society as there will be lower number of scientists and doctors. This will eventually reduce the efforts on research and development, and consequently, there will be lesser innovation. Without new discoveries and innovative solutions, the progress in our world will be slowed down. To conclude, there has been a tendency for many students not choosing science subject at university. The key reasons for this are its complicated nature and the prolonged period of learning required. This will certainly impact the society adversely because there will be a reduced number of new discoveries and innovations.