Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualification for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief among employers that social skill is as crucial as a good qualification in order to succeed in the industry. If asked, I am in unison with this statement to a large extent. My inclination will be explained further with reasons and examples. There are various reasons which make social expertise important. The foremost reason is the competitive work environment. Possessing good communication and socialisation helps in survival and keeping a check on criticism. Secondly, companies function as a single unit and communication play an important role to maintain a friendly industry environment. In addition, for large companies, a good convincing power is required in order to sell and other business aspects. Finally, it is said that a company is like a huge tree with branches and roots. The employees are the roots and in order to be a healthy tree, the roots need to be intact. Thus, if the social proficiency is weak, the tree can suffer losses. Technical skills can be developed with little training. However the same cannot be said for social competence. However, there is other dexterity that is superior and may overshadow weak social skills. There may be some people who are extremely talented despite lacking the social aspect and may bring great profit to the company as well. Therefore, one should not entirely rely on just communication skills. In a nutshell, it can be commented that though social skills are crucial to succeed in a job, it is not the only important factor. Other factors hold value as well