A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Having a factory around the neighbourhood is always troubling and beneficial to the inhabitants. If there were to be one in my community, the harmful impact would probably outweigh the positive influence. On the one hand, the establishment of a giant factory would naturally bring in a huge amount the capital and an influx of workers, which could undoubtedly boost economic growth and enhance the dynamics in the community. Furthermore, more job opportunities would be created, reducing the unemployment rate. Additionally, big factories can always revive a spiritless region by attracting an array of businesses and markets. For example, in China, many villages have leapt several rungs of the economic ladder thanks to the relocated factories. However, the negative impact can be so grave that economic development could hardly offset. Industrial activities could produce enormous amounts of waste and pollution, causing irrevocable damage to the local environment. In many nations, residents drink polluted water, consume contaminated or poisoned food, inhale toxic gases, and endure severe exploitative working conditions which are the inevitable side effects of industry production. There are numerous cases worldwide exemplifying the lethal effects of industrial processes: The gas leakage in an Indian city that killed 3,000 locals; the chemically poisoned water which permanently damaged thousands of children’s brains in a Japanese village; the air pollution in a Chinese town caused widespread lung cancer among workers. In short, environmental destruction is almost certainly to be introduced as soon as the factory is opened. In summary, even though there would be several benefits of the factory being built, the community must fully recognise the importance of the correlation between one’s wellbeing and environmental protection, and truly understand that no materialistic gain weighs more than a healthy life.