Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

These days, children are forced by their parents to work harder in order to be successful. This is due to the increased emphasis on academics in society, and it could result in negative consequences for young people’s development from a psychological perspective. Children nowadays are under a significant amount of pressure placed by their parents because of the societal expectation that to become successful individuals must obtain good grades in school. There have been a growing number of employers of successful businesses who require their candidates to have a tertiary education qualification. Parents are aware of this situation, therefore encourage their children to spend more time on academic pursuits rather than on hobbies or outdoor activities. This point is highlighted in the fact that university graduates in Japan earn on average 30% more than those whose highest qualification was high school. Although academic achievement is becoming increasingly important, too much pressure on youngsters is a negative development as it could lead to adverse health conditions such as depression and eating disorders. Children in general are more vulnerable to stress than adults as they have limited experience in life. For this reason, many school-age children are unable to handle pressure as well as negative comments by their parents, thus developing an unhealthy mindset. In Japan, for instance, a sizable number of senior high school students are diagnosed with an eating disorder due to considerable pressure placed on them before entrance examinations for university. In conclusion, this situation is caused by the increased value of educational backgrounds in society and it has the risk of the young developing mental health disorders. It is crucial that every parent ensure the physical and mental health of their children.