It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

A large number of people hold the view that it is vital for kids to learn the definition of right and wrong. Some individuals believe that it is essential to treat them harshly to help them learn this difference. However, I think it is not a good idea because excessive punishment could hinder their development. In my opinion, one of the main issues is that if parents and teachers treat children harshly, it will create obstacles in their activities, leading to a loss of confidence and placing more pressure on their minds. Admittedly, punishment can negatively impact their relationships, resulting in an unhealthy lifestyle. According to a survey carried out by Melbourne University, 90% of interviewees said that 65% of juveniles have left primary school in the last five years, compared to the previous fifteen years. From my own experience and from what I’ve read in articles, children are more likely to become dissatisfied, which discourages them from paying attention. As a result, juveniles may not be able to develop their cognitive abilities. In contrast, some individuals think that children should be punished by their parents and teachers to help them learn good behavior. However, I believe that punishment should be flexible, such as providing more lessons or having discussions with parents, which encourages them to accept difficulties and helps them become better leaders in our society. Take Japan as an example: 75% of children have gained practical experience working in teams over the last ten years because they were given more opportunities, resulting in increased skills. On the other hand, I think children should have self-determination so they can adapt to circumstances. In fact, if parents impose too many punishments, it will lead to frustration, and they might turn to drugs, which could harm their careers. In conclusion, giving punishment not only puts pressure on their minds but also hinders the development of their skills. Personally, I believe that children should be provided with more opportunities to learn and grow.