some people think the newly built houses should be the same as the old housing styles in local areas. others argue that local authorities should allow people to build houses in their own style. discuss both views and give your opinion.

it is argued whether new buildings should be constructed just the same as the architectural style of the ancient ones or houses should be erected freely as the owners wish to. In my opinion, I totally agree with the second notion and give my own reasons below. On the one hand, the main reason that people should follow the old building structure is to preserve the traditional value of that area. If all the houses in the same street have a totally identical appearance, it can be a good solution to attract tourists’ attention to come and check-in. Let’s take Hoi An ancient town, which is one of the most tourist attractions in the central of VietNam, for example. As can be seen along the street, the houses of many residents here are constructed in the traditional ancient way. Therefore, thousands of visitors often visit this place to take photos and learn more about the history of Hoi An - one of the most famous trading ports in the 17th century. As a result, the living standard of citizens can be improved a lot thanks to the similar architecture. Besides those undeniable benefits of putting up many buildings with the same outlook, I totally disagree with this opinion when it comes to constructing a place for people to live in for a long time. First and foremost, it is really annoying and irritating when living in a place where folk have to use their savings without any right to choose their favourite design. This can make people feel uncomfortable because each person has their dream house, for people have the basic civil right to choose the building style that they really desire to live in. Furthermore, most old houses in Viet Nam are erected by using a lot of wood which is really not environmentally- friendly and also costs a fortune to purchase. Hence, building a modern house can help people save a huge amount of money and help to protect many forests. All in all, although there are some reasons why folk are encouraged to build their apartment in the same style, I do believe that the house owners should be allowed to erect their residences in their own way.