Some people think the government should establish free libraries in each town. Others believe that it is a waste of money since people can access the Internet to obtain information. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, people should give more importance to reading books in order to increase general knowledge and cope with the contemporary world. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that a nation should spend money in establishing free public libraries in each area, others contend that governments should not squander money in this sector in that every type of information is now available on the internet. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that putting up libraries would be a wastage of money for a country down to having free access to information through Google. The establishment of free libraries in each nation would be conducive to encouraging young generations and adults to read more books without having any tension of payment. In other words, if people have to pay their hard-earned cash to read novels, storybooks and suchlike, there is a high chance that one day, they would reluctant to spend money on reading such books so as to save money for meeting basic needs. To cite an example, in China when the government started to charge for reading and borrowing books from public libraries, the number of visitors was declined by 20%. In order to exhort people to read more and more, therefore, governments should build free libraries. Plausible though getting an opportunity to read books in libraries without paying any fees emboldens individuals to broaden their knowledge, it is worth arguing that governments should not invest money in building libraries because these days, people can access all books through the internet. With the burgeoning popularity of the internet, it is now possible to read any book, journal, magazine to name but a few from the comfort zone, causing in saving time and hundreds of trees from cutting down to produce printed papers. To exemplify, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 99% of students the world over are now interested in reading online books. Hence, governments should not waste money on establishing free libraries. In conclusion, admittedly, free public libraries encourage some to read books but the internet facilities can meet up their demand easily. Thus, I unequivocally buttress the stand of not spending money on building libraries.