While some people think that art is an important subject for children to study, others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Many believe that art is an essential subject for pupils to study, while others argue it is time-consuming. In my opinion, although I think learning arts is too wasteful since it is unnecessary for someone whose career is not related to this subject, I concede its benefit regarding nurturing talents. On the one hand, providing lessons for art -related subjects in schools may help cultivate the natural talent of students. In fact, many pupils are gifted in their creative abilities. It logically follows that art will be able to teach them to express their thoughts and their ideas through any medium. For instance, when young teenagers with good imaginations learn arts, which means learning how to draw a portrait and landscape or how to mix colour, those painting lessons will consequently promote the young’s imaginative thinking and creativity. This could possibly help school-goers succeed in the area of art, where individuals involved need to showcase their ability to imagine creatively. On the other hand, although learning art is beneficial for those young students who were born with innate talents in the art, for those who dream of becoming experts in the other fields, particularly science, it is wasteful in terms of time and effort. This is mainly because studying and doing assignments of art -related subjects may account for a huge amount of time, which can be efficiently used in other important subjects. If, for instance, students aimed to become a scientist, they might need to pay more attention to more essential and vital subjects such as mathematics, physics and chemistry. Once they excelled in those subjects, they would have the opportunity to pursue a scientific career, which might secure a stable level of their finances to support their family and private life. In conclusion, despite the fact that art lessons play a fundamental role in nurturing talents, I believe that instead of studying art, which is time-consuming. Schools ought to strike a balance, but prioritise the preference of their pupils.