Many countries face the problem of low voter turnout in their democratic elections. What are the problems associated with it and suggest solutions?

A democratic election is when people of a country elect their own leader through the process of voting and the person chosen by the majority of the public will, in turn, govern the country. Nonetheless, as easy the process may seem, it is one of the most difficult and expensive events a country can conduct. Even after spending a massive budget on election campaigns and there is a minimal voter number in these elections. This essay will delve into the issues that arise with it and sought to find out answers to mitigate the issue. The main problem with lesser individuals voting is that an unworthy candidate might be elected and this will have adverse effects on the country. For instance, when there is a low voter turnout, only the individuals who were strongly influenced by the candidate will likely vote. Furthermore, this would also mean that the person running for office could buy out people’s votes. Thus, an insufficient turnout of voters would mean the selection of a weak contestant which might put the country in economic turmoil and foreign aggression. A plausible solution to this issue is to give financial incentives for individuals who are casting their votes. For example, when the Indian government started giving tax cuts for people who voted during the elections, voter numbers significantly rosette around 87% compared to the previous 43% of the past candidacy. In addition, the government should also educate the younger generation on the importance of voting when they reach the legal age to cast their vote. Thus it is apparent that a few solutions to prevent lower voter turnout is to educate the younger generation on the benefits of voting and to provide financial incentives to those who vote. In a nutshell, the main problem of fewer people voting is that an undeserving candidate might be elected which might put the country in hard times and also create political instability within the country. The best possible solution for this problem is to increase voter numbers by providing financial incentives to those who are voting and to educate the youth on the hazards of not voting.