People living in cities today do not get enough exercise. Why? What can be done to solve this problem?

With increased urbanization, health issues are also on a surge. This happens because human beings residing in metro areas do not perform enough physical activity. Many reasons could surface for the same. However, steps can be taken to alleviate this issue. This essay will discuss both the causes and the solutions that can be put forward. The biggest reason for not getting enough exercise is a hectic work schedule. Persons living in urban areas have longer working hours leaving no extra time for other recreational activities. For instance, it is seen that people in megacities like Mumbai have an 8 to 9 hour working period on average. Apart from this, urban space have a lack of area for open gardens and grounds minimising options for working out. This is because many people prefer running or jogging in the open grounds rather than going to a gym. Furthermore, the lifestyle in big cities is such that people would rather go to pubs instead of performing the physical exercise as a leisure activity. Nonetheless, different solutions can be put forward to tackle this issue. It is known that lack of physical activity has detrimental effects on the body. Thus, individuals must be educated for the same. This can be done by various means like media, flyers and campaigns. In addition, companies should have a fixed working period so that people have time for performing some physical exercise. In a nutshell, it can be said that although there are numerous causes of not being able to work out among the urbanized population, proper measures can very well keep this situation under check.