Because of the negative effects on health of an inactive lifestyle, all university students and school children should be forced to do sports activities at least 3 times per week. Do you agree? Write your argumentative essay.

In modern society, the passive lifestyle reached its peak popularity. There are various reasons for that. For instance, long work hours at sedentary jobs and addiction to technologies, such as smartphones and TV. As a result, many believe that mandatory exercises thrice a week must be introduced in educational establishments, including both schools and universities. And while I do agree that people should be more physically active, I am opposed to the idea of doing it forcefully. To begin, it is obvious that most of the children and youth prefer to watch a TV or play a video game in their spare time, rather than spending it outside playing with peers or merely taking a walk. Consequences of such decisions include obesity and related illnesses. Thus, physical activity is needed in order to reduce health problems and maintain a healthy lifestyle. Moreover, according to various studies exercising multiple times a week decrease the chance of developing diseases like diabetes, blood pressure as well as a cardiovascular conditions. Furthermore, it is stated that being active improves psychological health and prevents stress and depression. It is also believed that playing sports helps to relax mentally. Therefore, increase study performance. However, I strongly disagree that exercising must be obligatory due to the following reasons. First and foremost, making anything compulsory decreases pupils’ and students’ interest in participating in it. As it is accepted that young people see such actions as a limitation of their free will. Hence, their motivation plunges. Secondly, during the PE lessons, teachers compare students’ accomplishments to each other, rather than comparing their results individually. Being set against others, who might have better physical training background, could negatively affect an individual’s self-confidence and lead to mental disorders, such as stress, depression and body dysphoria. In the final analysis, I believe that being physically active is essential in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Although, I do not agree that PE lessons must be compulsory. From my point of view, exercising and playing sports give better results when individuals themselves show interest in participating.