In some countries, there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more youngsters are choosing apprenticeship rather than tertiary education in many countries. While this can provide some benefits to these students, there can be several negative impacts on their later career life. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this choice outweigh the positive impacts. It is obvious that on-the-job training benefits young students in their early career life. That is, as majoriy of internships are paid, these students can support themselves financially. As a result, they can manage their own welfare and their finance early in their lives. In addition, companies are also willing to employ such trainees because the salary they have to pay is much lower than that for a  formal graduate employee. This leads to secure job opportunities for interns, providing them with safe work positions. Despite these advantages in their early career, these youngsters have to face a lot of struggles in their later career due to a lack of formal education. For example, a trainee can encounter problems that cannot be solved by using their experience. In this case, they might have to seek advices from seniors who completed college education, causing their existence in workplace less demanding. Another problem is that their pay would not increase as they get older. This means that as these people become older, they may need more money for their health or social problems, leaving them with insuffient financial resources for their daily expenses because their salary remains relatively unchanged. In conclusion, it can be seen that the number of young students choosing vocational training over university education is increasing in many nations. It is also true that this trend has both beneficial effects and detrimental impacts on those young people's lives. From my perspective, its devastating impacts have more weight than the benefits.