In countries all over the world, the volume of road traffic is increasing at a faster rate than new roads are built. What are the causes of this problem? What are some potential solutions?

In different nations across the world, the number of road traffic is on the rise relative to the construction of new roads. There are several causes to this trend as well as possible solutions. This essay will explain further on this. To begin with, one of the major cause of the increasing volume of gridlock across the globe is the rise in the number of privately owned cars. As a result of the comfort these vehicles provide, different persons are then persuaded to purchase theirs, and this is turn leads to an increase in the proportion of vehicles plying the road. In Birmingham for example, there is a direct link between the number of private cars and traffic jam, a report said. Also, lack of good urban planning is another contributing factor to the rising level of gridlock in some countries. For instance, in Lagos, Nigeria, the primary cause of traffic is poor urban setting. Considering the fact that these structures were built in the early 1970's, it isn't adequate for the rising proportion of populace in recent times. Subsequently, an increase in petrol taxation can help tackle this issue, as this would discouraged them from using their personal vehicles due to the high fuel price, and in turn encourage them to utilize public transport, which could convey more persons at the same time. To illustrate, in the UK, it has been shown that a 20 per cent increase in fuel price can help cut the number of cars plying the road by about 40 per cent. Additionally, another effective measure to help decrease this trend is establishing a surveying committee to help ensure that towns and subways are renovated at least every two decades to suite the rising population. In conclusion, although an increase in car ownership and lack of adequate town planning could lead to the growth in traffic, in various regions of the world, potential solutions such as an increase in fuel taxation and establishment of task force to help refurbish town, can help combat this trend.