International tourism has brought about enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Do tourists harm the environment in local neighbourhoods? One local newspaper stated that many tourists visiting their neighbourhood in the last few years, caused several problems for the locals to the extent that they complained to the government. I believe, although there are clearly some drawbacks of tourism, the benefits are far greater. To begin with, from a financial perspective the tourists will increase the income of local businesses. More precisely when the tour comes to the country they will inevitably have to pay for accommodation. Thus, the hotel will fill their rooms and during peak seasons they will more likely charge a higher rate. Furthermore, restaurants will thrive because tourists will of course be eating there all of the time. Local shops will also benefit by selling gifts, artefacts and other memorable items. On the other hand, it is argued that tourists bring disadvantages to some of the local community. For instance, the people who live in the area will be disturbed by the noise and presence of tourists. Usually, these tourists stay up late wandering around and enjoying their holiday whilst locals have to attend work or school the next day. In addition, tourists more often than not do not care about pollution. Consequently, they throw trash everywhere. For example, when I visit a nice area near the beach in my city, I always find trash which was left by tourists who visit from other cities. The local people, however, know better. To sum up, there are many aspects to this issue. However, in my view the benefits clearly exceed the extent of the drawbacks,particularly from an economic angle.