Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

While some persons are of the opinion that it is possible to decipher an individual's way of life and attitude from their fashion sense, I do not agree with this statement, and this essay will explain further. On the one hand, clothing is an aspect of one's tradition. For this reason, many are of the belief that one's choice of clothes can possibly tell a lot about their way of life. In Nigeria, for example, a typical Igbo man from the Southeastern part of the country can easily be identified amongst many by merely wearing a material made from a Leopard's skin. Due to the fact that fashion sense is unique to a particular culture, some individuals would argue that it is can relay a lot of information about their way of life. However, I don't agree with this. On the other hand, I disagree with the fact that one's choice of clothes can tell about their culture and attitude. This is because of the effects of globalization in recent times. The world is becoming a small global village and people from different walks of life mimic the dressing of other cultures. For instance, a significant proportion of Nigerians put on suits regularly, a dressing peculiar to an English man. Considering the fact that they wear these clothes that are not unique to their culture doesn't make them English, As a result of this trend, I totally disagree with persons who claim that one's choice of clothes can determine their culture as well as character. In conclusion, although many would argue and I do not concur that one's clothing can tell a lot about their culture because with globalization, we are having different people from other traditions replicating those of others.