Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the 21st century, online shopping has been gaining popularity exponentially. It has become an astounding feat by humans to enable a person to buy goods from the comfort of their homes, at the click of a button. It's not inaccurate to predict that online shopping will be the only way of shopping in the future. There are several reasons for the popularity of online shopping. One of the main advantages of online shopping is the access to a wider range of products than under normal circumstances. Websites such as eBay, Amazon and Alibaba provide customers with a wide range of products, varying from clothing to books and even furniture. Another reason for the growth in online shopping is the guarantee these online websites provide. The commercial websites mentioned above give customers a sense of safety and assurance that that the goods sold are of good quality and have affordable prices. In addition, websites like Whole Foods guarantee the freshness and price of healthy groceries. However, the most compelling reason for growth in popularity of online shopping is the considerable decrease in hassle. Unlike in supermarkets, where customers have to wait in line, online websites allow each and every customer to buy goods and have them delivered at the click of a button. The satisfaction of having your goods and groceries delivered to your doorstep triumphs over having to pay extra delivery charges. There are also some disadvantages associated with online shopping. Although the decrease in hassle seems to show online shopping as more user-friendly, some individuals find the lack of human interaction daunting. This can be seen commonly among the older generation, who begin to doubt the quality of goods. Other disadvantages include false advertising and scamming. However, these are more likely to occur in non-guaranteed websites. In conclusion, the advantages of online shopping far outweigh the disadvantages.