Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Discussions to determine the school subject with the greatest importance has created prominent controversies in our society. Although a proportion of people consider History as a crucial part of education, other people prioritise Science and Technology subjects. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument in details and provide evidence to argue for why Science and Technology subjects are superior. Firstly, it is undeniable that History plays an essential part in allowing individuals to know more about their cultures and identities. Learning the subject creates opportunities for students to gain access to the evolution of their cultures and traditional practices, consequently, enable them to understand more about their countries and customs. Moreover, this will also give them a sense of belonging and pride on the bravery of their ancestors. For example, student in Vietnam learn about their country’s past which dated back thousands of years ago, thus making them feel honoured and cherish the Vietnamese Civilisation. Therefore, learning History allow people to learn more about the past and their cultural identity. On the other hand, I think subjects such as Science and Technology have superior importance in our modern world compared to History. Because of the increased rate of globalisation and integration between all countries across the globe, equipping our future generations with knowledge of STEM subjects can result in rapid development of the world in general. Furthermore, by providing them with suitable knowledge backgrounds, they will be able to effectively compete internationally with their peers and therefore, gain absolute advantages when acquiring jobs in the future. These factors are the fundamentals that support my argument of why STEM subjects have the greatest priority in our education. In conclusion, this essay strongly supports the prioritisation of Science and Technology subjects due to the major advantages that it brings for individuals such as the ability to compete worldwide, securing desirable job positions and so on.